Project Governance

The Evergreen Project is a member project of the Software Freedom Conservancy.

The Evergreen Oversight Board represents the interests of the Evergreen Project to Conservancy and is responsible for assisting Conservancy on enforcing the Evergreen trademark and discussing

  • Issues escalated from a committee or other subgroup in the Project that has reached an impasse but requires a decision by informed consensus.
  • Issues that do not fall into the purview of any of the established committees or other subgroups, but requires a decision by informed consensus.
  • Issues of strategic, as opposed to tactical, importance for the Project that require leadership and vision from above the team or subproject level to achieve
  • Sensitive legal or personnel issues which require research and discussion to protect the interests of the Project.

The Board is elected by annual vote by members of the Evergreen Project, namely those who have made direct contributions to Evergreen code, documentation, or committees or those who are employed by institutions running Evergreen.

The fiscal sponsorship agreement [PDF] between the Evergreen Project and the Software Freedom Conservancy defines the relationship under which Evergreen acts as a member project of Conservancy.

The rules of governance for the Evergreen Oversight Board are maintained in a Git repository. The current version in HTML format is available here and is embedded in this page.


Meetings are currently held in the #evergreen IRC channel on the Freenode network. They are normally held on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 2 p.m. EDT, 11 a.m. PDT, 18:00 UTC. All interested parties are welcome to observe the meetings.

Minutes from previous meetings can be found here.

Mailing list

The main mailing list of the Board is open to all interested parties. There is also exists a private mailing list that includes representatives of Conservancy, for the purpose of discussing sensitive topics.

Current Board members

As of 21 August 2014, the current Board members are

Name Affiliation Board position Term ends
Grace Dunbar Equinox Software 2017
Ruth Fraser Hagerstown – Jefferson Township Library 2018
Sharon Herbert British Columbia Libraries Cooperative / SITKA 2018
Chauncey Montgomery Sunbury Community Library (Ohio) 2016
Andrea Buntz Neiman Kent County Public Library (Maryland) 2016
Chris Sharp Georgia Public Library Service Secretary, representative to Conservancy 2016
Tim Spindler C/W MARS 2018
Ben Shum Bibliomation Chair 2017
Yamil Suarez Berklee College of Music Vice-Chair 2016

Past Board members

The following individuals have served on the Board or its predecessor, the Governance Committee.

Name Affiliation Term
Lori Ayre Galecia Group 2011-2013
Shauna Borger Indiana State Library 2013-2014
Galen Charlton Equinox Software 2011-2014
Jim Corridan Indiana State Library 2011-2013
Tim Daniels Lyrasis 2011-2012
Stephen Elfstrand MnPALS 2011-2014
Rogan Hamby York County Library (South Carolina) and SC LENDS 2012-2015
Ben Hyman British Columbia Libraries Cooperative 2012-2015
Kathy Lussier Massachusetts Library Network Cooperative 2012-2015
Elizabeth McKinney Georgia Public Library Service 2011-2014
Jed Moffitt King County Library System 2011-2012
Michele Montague Grand Rapids Public Library (Michigan) 2011-2012
Dan Scott Laurentian University and CoffeeCode 2011-2013
Amy Terlaga Bibliomation 2011-2013
Steve Wills Beyond Print 2011-2014